How to Switch Settings on Facebook

In the Settings panel, you can configure almost every element of your Facebook account, including basic items such as your name, how you receive notifications, and who can interact with you and view your content. How you access the Settings panel varies depending on whether you use the official Facebook app for mobile devices or the Facebook website.

Editing Your Settings Using the Facebook App

Pics provided here are from the official Facebook app on a Samsung Galaxy S5 running Android Five.0. They may vary slightly from the display on other devices.

Tap the Menu icon in the corner of the app.

Scroll down and tap Account Settings.

Select the settings category you want to edit.

Tap the item you want to edit.

Configure the chosen setting. The appearance of the page and the options available vary depending on the setting you edit. In most cases, the current configuration of the setting is indicated by a check mark.

In some cases, you may be introduced with a series of customizable options managed by check boxes or radio buttons.

Touch the Back button to comeback to the previous page and save your switches, if you’re not sent back to the previous page automatically after making your switches.

Editing Your Settings Using the Facebook Website

Click the down-facing arrow in the top-right corner of your Facebook page and click Settings in the drop-down menu.

Select the settings category you want to edit, or if you want to edit general account settings such as your username, primary email or password, remain on this page. Extra categories are listed along the left of the page, they include Security, Privacy, Timeline and Tagging and Notifications, among others.

Click the Edit link next to the setting you want to switch. A description of what a particular setting controls is displayed next to each item. Read this description cautiously before switching the setting. If you’re unassured about what a setting controls, visit Facebook’s Help Center to learn more.

Modify the selected setting. The modifications vary depending on the setting you switch. If you’re switching who can look you up on Facebook, for example, click the provided drop-down menu and select Everyone, Friends of Friends or Friends.

Click Close or Save Switches to apply the switches to the selected setting. Whether Close or Save Switches is introduced varies depending on which setting you edit.

Related Articles

The 22 Coolest Gadgets We Eyed at CES 2016

How to Check If Your Facebook Message Has Been Read

How to Go after Someone on Twitter

How to Delete Numerous Photos on Facebook

How to Use Google Docs

How to Download an iPhone Ringtone

Get good tech advice delivered to your inbox.

Keep your family productive, connected, entertained, and safe.

Related movie: Top 7 Best free online dating sites for youthfull singles


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *